Selection criteria

General Guidelines

Each document for inclusion in a Biblio-Aidants thematic booklet is evaluated with impartiality, based on Librarianship practices in place in public libraries, using various general selection criteria. First, the booklets are carefully designed to primarily meet the needs and interests of caregivers. Every title is evaluated based on relevance and quality of its content for the general public, in the Quebec context. In case if equal value, Quebec material is always preferred. The credibility and reputation of the author, creator, illustrator, publisher or producer are also of great importance. Furthermore, special attention is given to the timeliness and long-term relevance of the subject as well as the accuracy of the information. For documentaries, works by health professionals (doctors, nurses, occupational therapists, psychologists, etc.) are given preference. However, titles based on lay or experiential knowledge are not rejected outright, especially those involving support by a caregiver. Finally, each thematic booklet is considered as a whole in order to respect the diversity of the topics covered and allow for a balanced presentation of different viewpoints.

The whole series of Biblio-Aidants 15 thematic booklets is considered as one entity that is constantly evolving in step with the numerous and diverse needs of the clientele of caregivers, patients and professionals. This entails selecting documents that are adapted to provide appropriate information to various clienteles and reading levels.

In order to keep the booklets attractive and up to date, a significant number of new titles are added every year. The Biblio-Aidants booklets also include a growing number of books available on PRETNUMERIQUE.CA. To enrich and diversify the digital offer, the collection of audiovisual documents available online is expanded annually.  

Inventory of Resources

Organizations and associations

Each Biblio-Aidants booklet provides a list of organizations and associations which are specific to the theme chosen, as well as resources common to several booklets. For example, the Quebec Breast Cancer Foundation is listed in the “Cancer” booklet; the Foundation is the only charitable organization in Quebec dedicated entirely to the fight against breast cancer. The Conseil pour la protection des malades is also included in that booklet, but it is also present in all the other booklets where the resource is considered relevant. Finally, the organizations and associations selected must serve the whole Quebec territory.

Web Resources

The selected web resources are mainly government or academic websites, or sites that are affiliated to recognized organizations featuring high-quality information. Priority is given to web resources intended for people in Quebec and Canada. However, foreign websites that are pertinent for Quebec caregivers are not discarded outright and will be evaluated on a case-by-case basis according to the following standard criteria: relevance of content, reliability of sources, reputation of the author, accuracy of information and timeliness of content.

Health Information Portals

Every health information portal mentioned in the Biblio-Aidants booklets is the gateway to a wide selection of web pages (articles, summary sheets, comprehensive dossiers, etc.) on health and healthy lifestyles. Priority is given to portals from Quebec and Canada that provide high-quality, reliable information.

Health Databases

The Biblio-Aidants booklets also propose different databases which organize and structure the information to facilitate access. Selected databases are used to find articles in periodicals or newspapers, lecture notes, book reviews and book chapters, as well as grey literature relating to numerous health problems.

Reading Suggestions

It is important to mention that the reading suggestions contained in the Biblio-Aidants booklets are merely suggestions and should not be considered as reading recommendations (recommendation implies a bias). Several sources of information are explored to identify the titles that are selected in the Biblio-Aidants program, including the Iris catalogue of Bibliothèque et Archives nationales du Québec (BAnQ), for titles in French, and the Toronto Public Library catalogue, for titles in English. In addition, the extensive database ChoixMédia is used to review almost all French-language books. Reader assistance resources are also consulted to gain a sense of the general public’s appreciation for a book. Other tools are sometimes used to select titles: radio and television programs, websites and specialized blogs, format and content of the document itself, etc.

Documentaries

Non-fiction books for the general public (i.e. popular works, guides and handbooks) are preferred. Documentaries primarily intended for professionals are labelled “Specialized Books” to facilitate their identification. Quebec works are selected first. Conversely, titles that do not apply to Quebec or Canadian contexts are excluded. For example, a high-quality book on testamentary succession under French Law will not be retained. In addition, documents published in the last five years are given priority selection. However, must-read publications (for example, finalist titles and prize winners) previously published, as well as titles deemed “timeless” (focusing on accompaniment of a loved one rather than medical information) are retained. Obviously, the Biblio-Aidants booklets do not present any documentary conveying false or misleading statements or religious messages. Overall, all documentaries are evaluated based on the following criteria: relevance of content, reliability of sources, reputation of the author, accuracy of information and timeliness of content.

Life stories, Biographies and Testimonials

The priority is given to biographies of Quebec and Canadian prominent figures, or personalities well known to Quebecers.

Novels – Comic Books

It is clear that the novels and comic books selected have to be related to the topic covered in the booklet where it is presented. The booklet theme has to be at the centre of the story or closely related to its main character. Biblio-Aidants booklets suggest historical novels, fantasy and love stories, science fiction novels, etc., the main objective being to select novels for every taste and for all members of the public. The originality of the document (layout, illustrations, photographs, etc.) and its visual impact are the important selection criteria for novels. These criteria also apply to the selection of comic books. Particular attention is also given to the authority of the author, the beauty of the illustrations, and the originality of the stories.

Youth Books

The selection of material for children and youth is based on the general criteria outlined earlier, plus more specific criteria: the quality and originality of the illustrations, the legibility of the characters, the usability of the document, the handling of the topic (for example, a book giving a very bleak picture of the Alzheimer’s disease could be excluded).

Suggestions of films, series and programs

The Biblio-Aidants booklets offer an increasing number of suggestions for films, series and programs on various supports (in particular DVD and Blu-ray). The collection is divided in two main categories: documentaries and fiction. Priority is always given to Quebec and Canadian productions. For documentaries, the main selection criteria are those used to evaluate documentary books (relevance of the content, reliability of sources, reputation of the author, accuracy of the information and timeliness of content). Whenever possible, the recording quality (sound and images) is also taken into account.

Critères de sélection

Lignes directrices générales

Chaque document ajouté aux cahiers Biblio-Aidants est évalué avec impartialité, selon les pratiques bibliothéconomiques en vigueur dans les bibliothèques publiques et en s’appuyant sur de nombreux critères généraux de sélection. D’abord, les cahiers sont développés de manière à répondre prioritairement aux besoins et intérêts des proches aidants. Chaque titre est évalué selon la pertinence et la qualité du contenu en regard d’une clientèle grand public, en contexte québécois. À valeur égale, les ouvrages québécois sont toujours favorisés. La crédibilité et la notoriété de l’auteur, du créateur, de l’illustrateur, de l’éditeur ou du producteur sont aussi d’une grande importance. De plus, une attention particulière est portée à l’actualité et la pérennité du sujet ainsi qu’à l’exactitude des informations diffusées. En ce qui a trait spécifiquement aux documentaires, les ouvrages écrits par des professionnels de la santé (médecins, infirmiers, ergothérapeutes, psychologues, etc.) sont privilégiés. Toutefois, les titres qui s’appuient sur le savoir profane ou expérientiel ne sont pas rejetés d’emblée, surtout lorsque ceux-ci traitent de l’accompagnement d’un proche. Finalement, chaque cahier est considéré dans sa globalité pour respecter la diversité des sujets couverts et assurer l’équilibre des points de vue exprimés.

Les 15 cahiers thématiques du programme Biblio-Aidants sont envisagés comme une entité globale en constante transformation qui évolue selon les besoins nombreux et diversifiés de la clientèle composée de proches aidants, de patients et de professionnels. Cela suppose de choisir des documents adaptés aux divers publics avec des niveaux de lecture adéquats.

Pour que les cahiers demeurent attrayants et au goût du jour, un nombre significatif de nouveaux titres sont ajoutés annuellement. De plus, les cahiers Biblio-Aidants comptent un nombre grandissant de livres disponibles sur PRETNUMERIQUE.CA. Par ailleurs, afin d’enrichir et de diversifier l’offre numérique, de nombreux documents audio-visuels disponibles en ligne sont ajoutés chaque année.  

Répertoire des ressources

Organismes et associations

Chaque cahier Biblio-Aidants présente une liste d’organismes et d’associations spécifiques à la thématique choisie, à laquelle s’ajoutent des ressources communes à plusieurs cahiers. À titre d’exemple, dans le cahier « Cancer », on retrouve la Fondation du cancer du sein du Québec, seul organisme de bienfaisance québécois entièrement consacré à la lutte contre le cancer du sein. Le Conseil pour la protection des malades est présent dans ce cahier, mais se retrouve également dans tous les autres cahiers pour lesquels la ressource est jugée pertinente. Finalement, les organismes et associations retenus doivent absolument desservir tout le territoire québécois.

Ressources web

Les ressources web sélectionnées sont majoritairement des sites gouvernementaux, universitaires ou affiliés à des organismes reconnus qui présentent de l’information de qualité. Les ressources web qui s’adressent à un public québécois ou canadien sont privilégiées. Toutefois, les sites Internet étrangers pertinents pour les proches aidants du Québec ne sont pas écartés d’emblée et sont évalués au cas par cas selon ces critères usuels : pertinence du contenu, fiabilité des sources, réputation de l’auteur, objectivité de l’information, exactitude de l’information, actualité du contenu.

Portails d’information de santé

Chaque portail d’information de santé qui apparait dans les cahiers Biblio-Aidants est la porte d'entrée vers un large éventail de pages web (articles, fiches synthétiques, dossiers complets, etc.) sur la santé et les saines habitudes de vie. Les portails québécois et canadiens qui fournissent de l’information fiable et de qualité sont retenus en priorité.

Bases de données en santé

Les cahiers Biblio-Aidants proposent également différentes bases de données, lesquelles organisent et structurent l’information dans le bus d’en faciliter le repérage. Les bases de données choisies permettent de trouver des articles de périodiques ou de journaux, des textes de conférences, des comptes rendus de livres, des chapitres de livres et de la littérature grise en lien avec de nombreuses problématiques de santé.

Suggestions de lecture

Il importe de mentionner que les suggestions de lecture contenues dans les cahiers Biblio-Aidants ne sont que des suggestions et ne doivent être considérées comme des recommandations de lecture (la recommandation sous-entend un parti pris). Plusieurs sources d’information sont sollicitées pour repérer les titres qui font l’objet d’une sélection dans le cadre du programme Biblio-Aidants. Parmi celles-ci, il y a le catalogue Iris de Bibliothèque et Archives nationales du Québec (BAnQ), pour les titres en français, et le catalogue de la Bibliothèque publique de Toronto, pour les titres en anglais. De plus, la base de données bibliographiques étoffée ChoixMédia est utilisée pour évaluer la quasi-totalité des ouvrages de langue français. Quelques ressources d’aide au lecteur sont également consultées en complément dans le but de connaître l’appréciation du grand public à l’égard d’un ouvrage. D’autres outils sont parfois utilisés pour sélectionner les titres : émissions de radio et de télévision, sites Web et blogues spécialisés, contenant et contenu du document lui-même, etc.

Documentaires

Les titres à l’intention du grand public (c’est-à-dire les ouvrages de vulgarisation, les guides et les manuels) sont privilégiés. Les documentaires qui s’adressent essentiellement à des professionnels portent la mention « Livre spécialisé » pour faciliter leur identification. Les ouvrages québécois sont sélectionnés en priorité. À l’inverse, les titres qui ne s’appliquent pas aux contextes québécois et canadien sont exclus. Par exemple, un ouvrage de grande qualité portant sur la succession testamentaire en vertu du droit français ne sera pas retenu. De plus, les documents publiés au cours des cinq dernières années se voient accorder la priorité de sélection. Les ouvrages incontournables (par exemple, les titres finalistes et lauréats de prix) publiés antérieurement de même que les titres jugés « intemporels » (qui mettent l’accent sur l’accompagnement d’un proche plutôt que sur l’information médicale) sont toutefois conservés. Évidemment, les cahiers Biblio-Aidants ne présentent aucun documentaire qui véhicule des propos mensongers ou trompeurs ou des messages religieux. Globalement, tous les documentaires sont évalués en fonction des critères suivants : pertinence du contenu, fiabilité des sources, réputation de l’auteur, objectivité de l’information, exactitude de l’information, actualité du contenu.

Récits de vie, biographies et témoignages

Les biographies de personnages québécois, canadiens ou bien connus des Québécois sont sélectionnés en priorité.

Romans – Bandes dessinées

Il va de soi que les romans et les bandes dessinées sélectionnés doivent être en lien avec la thématique du cahier. La thématique du cahier se trouve au cœur de l’histoire et/ou concerne un personnage principal de l’ouvrage. Les cahiers Biblio-Aidants suggèrent des romans historiques, fantastiques, d’amour, de science-fiction, etc., l’objectif premier étant de sélectionner des romans pour tous les goûts et tous les publics. L’originalité du document (mise en page, illustrations, photographies, etc.) et, plus largement, l’impact visuel du document sont des critères de sélection importants pour les romans. Ces critères s’appliquent aussi à la sélection des bandes dessinées. De plus, une attention particulière est portée à l’autorité de l’auteur/de l’illustrateur, à la beauté des illustrations ainsi qu’à l’originalité des histoires.

Ouvrages jeunesse

La sélection des ouvrages jeunesse s’appuie sur les critères généraux définis précédemment, auxquels s’ajoutent des critères plus spécifiques : la qualité et l’originalité des illustrations, la lisibilité des caractères, la facilité d’utilisation du document, le traitement du sujet (par exemple, un livre présentant un portrait très sombre de la maladie d’Alzheimer pourrait être exclu).

Suggestions de films, séries et émissions

Les cahiers Biblio-Aidants contiennent un nombre grandissant de suggestions de films, de séries et d’émissions sur différents supports (notamment DVD et Blu-Ray). La collection est divisée en deux grandes catégories : documentaires et fiction. Dans tous les cas, les productions québécoises et canadiennes sont sélectionnées en priorité. Pour les documentaires, les critères de sélection principaux sont ceux utilisés pour évaluer les livres documentaires (pertinence du contenu, fiabilité des sources, réputation de l’auteur/du réalisateur, objectivité de l’information, exactitude de l’information, actualité du contenu). Dans la mesure du possible, la qualité des enregistrements (son et images) est aussi prise en compte.